Jamie Oliver’s Griddle Pan Waffles

I made this on Sunday as I had a day off and I’ve been craving for waffles in the last few weeks. I had plan on using this waffle recipe but I didn’t have the energy or the patience to whip egg whites, and then I remembered watching Jamie Oliver make this recipe in one of his many shows.

This is a quick and easy recipe to follow. I didn’t have any milk on hand and used a dry skim milk powder instead as replacement. We ate it with raspberry jam and cream, and maple syrup. I used a waffle iron instead of a griddle pan because we own one and it hadn’t been used for a long time.

Griddle Pan Waffle

Adapted from Jamie Oliver

Ingredients

2 free-range eggs
300 ml milk (I used 250ml of skim milk powder mixed with water then added more water to level it to the amount listed)
225 g self-raising flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
100 g unsalted butter , melted and cooled, plus about 1 tsp extra

Method

Whisk the eggs and milk until combined. Sift in the flour, baking powder and salt and then whisk until combined. Add the butter and gradually stir through the mixture. Do not over mix.

Preheat waffle iron and cook waffles according to the manufacturers instructions. Serve immediately with your preferred toppings.

Leave a comment